Table of Contents  MOBOTIX Online Help

Managing Users and Passwords

The Users and Passwords dialog allows managing the user names and passwords for granting access to the camera. The Group Access Control List dialog allows creating and editing groups and the corresponding access rights later on.

Rules for User Names and Passwords

Note

Caution

Resetting this dialog to factory settings will not only reset the options of this dialog, but also those of the Group Access Control Lists! If you are asked to enter a user name and password after resetting to factory defaults, remember to enter admin as user name and meinsm as password.

Creating New Users

You will need to enter the same password twice when creating new users or when modifying the user name; this is done to make sure that the passwords are matching.

There has to be at least one user of the admins group. The admin user of the admins group (password is meinsm) is the factory-preset administrator of the camera.

Setting the Group

Modifying a user's group does not require entering a new password.

Per factory default, three groups have been preset (admins, users, guests). The access rights of these groups are managed in the Group Access Control Lists dialog. This dialog also allows creating new groups and editing existing ones.

Users may also be assigned the undefined group; this may be done to temporarily deactivate users or to create users before their group has been created. Users of this group do not have any access rights.

If a group has been deleted in the Group Access Control List dialog, all users assigned to the deleted group will be assigned to the Undefined group.

Deleting Users

Activate the Remove option behind the user(s) you would like to delete and click on Set at the bottom of the dialog.

Caution

Once you have finished configuring users, passwords and groups, you should always store the settings in the camera's permanent memory. If the configuration is not stored in the camera's permanent memory, all deleted user names and passwords will again be valid after the next camera reboot!

Protecting a Camera From Public Access

To prevent the camera from unauthorized access, you should execute the following steps:
  1. If you would like to reset all users, passwords and groups (Group Access Control Lists dialog), it may be useful to load the factory settings.

    Caution

    This will also reset the admin user's password to meinsm!

  2. Make sure that you change the password for the admin user!

  3. In the Group Access Control List dialog, deactivate all checkboxes of the Public Access row.

  4. Create the required user groups (in Group Access Control List) and users.

Scheduled Access Control (Supervisor)

Open the Scheduled Access Control dialog to restrict access to the camera to a specific user group or control organs in highly regulated work environments, for instance. For additional information on this topic, see the Scheduled Access Control by the Supervisor help page.

Super PIN

If you are changing the Super PIN while the Admin password is still the factory default or corresponds to the current Super PIN, the Admin password will be changed to match the new Super PIN.


Storing the Configuration

Click on the Set button to activate your settings and to save them until the next reboot of the camera.

Click on the Factory button to load the factory defaults for this dialog (this button may not be present in all dialogs).

Click on the Restore button to undo your most recent changes that have not been stored in the camera permanently.

Click on the Close button to close the dialog. While closing the dialog, the system checks the entire configuration for changes. If changes are detected, you will be asked if you would like to store the entire configuration permanently.


© 2001-2017 MOBOTIX, · http://www.mobotix.com/